Being “Small”

Standing at 153 cm tall, and weighing around 30+ kg, I am and have been underweight for the past 10 or so years.

Since primary school days, I sat at the front row for class photo taking session. I was always one of the smallest and skinniest in class.At 20, I am still one of the smallest and skinniest in university (though I have seen people much tinier and lighter than me). Whenever people say things like ” you’re small”, ” I thought you were younger, like 13 or 14″ etc., I used to treat it as a joke and laugh it off. Then for some time, I realized that what is important is that I should be comfortable with my body. Let me get this straight, I am comfortable with my body. But I want to be better.

Realistically speaking, I can’t change much about my height. But, I can do something about my weight. Well, gaining weight is one of those things that will definitely help me attain my goals. E.g. donating blood (need to be at least 45 kg), doing activities that require me to be physically fit (one of my bucket list items is to climb Mount Kinabalu), wearing clothes that I like and many more.

Unfortunately, there are few things you need to know about me.

  • I am lazy.
  • I am a picky eater and I kind of dislike vegetables. I am not a big fan of fruits too.
  • I dislike running.
  • I honestly don’t think I would like paying for gym membership fees (not being stingy or cheapskate but I am not sure if it’s worth it).
  • I am not a sporty person. Me & Sports= no no.

I am not writing this to say that I will start to exercise and eat properly from tomorrow. Getting fit is a process, a journey that requires self-discipline. You have to put both your mind and body to it. And this writing is part of the process to start that journey (hopefully I can start it by the end of this year).

While there are so many wanting to lose weight, there are some who are struggling to gain weight (like me). Losing weight can be difficult for some people, likewise gaining weight for some people is not a piece of cake as well. Nonetheless, both need motivation, inspiration and discipline to get through; going to the same destination in the opposite directions.

Here’s a quote to inspire those who are struggling to get fit:

Everyone must choose one of two pains: The pain of discipline or the pain of regret.

-Jim Rohn

The choice is yours (and mine)!:)

Have a happy week ahead everyone!

P.S. I just realized that I wrote this faster than my assignments..hehehe

2 thoughts on “Being “Small”

  1. After June we’ll probably get round and fat :,)

Leave a comment