Lost 

It wasn’t the results that I had expected. What I saw in front of me shattered my dreams and hopes of the future I had in mind. I bet I had let down a lot of people , like some of the teachers who believed in me. The least to say , I was disappointed. In fact , I was more upset with myself because I did not perform up to My Expectations.  My family was fine with my results , but I wasn’t. They were hopeful that I would get in to a course at the local universities , but I wasn’t. That night , I cried about my “fine” results , the first of many over the next few months. And that’s when I felt extremely LOST. Yes that’s the word. LOST. Clueless , directionless about my next step. Every single time I thought about my mediocre grades , nothing but tears came out. And then university application results came. Rejected and dejected. There comes my next waterfall. I realise that I was at the lowest point in my life. My sister told me , “it means you can’t go any lower right?” . I have to say my sister was the reason why I managed to make it through one of the toughest times. She kept on consoling and motivating me. Quoting her wise words,  ” One day, you will be wondering why you were crying for such a (small) thing. In due course , you will find out the reason for why things happened this way.” And yes , I am waiting for that day , wanting to know the reason for what I was going through.

But isn’t that what life is about?

Learning to face failure AND overcome those adversities. Allowing a stronger person to emerge.

As we grow up , we realise that not everything happens our way. We need to accept that things may not go according to our plan. We must adapt to those changes and use it to be a better person in the future. It is a learning process that truly never ends. And that’s how failure/rejection/defeat works as well.

Accepting defeat is one thing. But learning from the mistakes that led to the defeat is another. It is that learning process that leads us to the road to success. Rome was not built in a day, so is success. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Never let failure get to your heart and success to your head.

 

On a side note , today’s date is 13/8/2016 where history was made. Singapore got it’s first Olympic gold medal through Singaporean swimmer Joseph Schooling. And his road to success wasn’t easy as well , but years of training , hard work and determination has finally paid off. It shows that when you do something with your heart and soul in it, anyone can achieve the impossible , anyone can become the greatest version of himself/herself.

No matter what, always be positive.

#motivation #life #wecanachievegreatthingstoo #positivity

Leave a Reply

